top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Jones

Pre-Departure

Updated: Apr 4, 2021

Today, I am 150 days away from my departure to Tokyo... things with COVID-19 are not looking too good but I will proceed as though I am likely to go. It's Easter day and things are still chilly at home, but in Japan the tulips are in full bloom and spring has arrived.


Getting Over Fears

Japan also saw a spike of COVID-19 cases in 44 of its 47 prefectures, so my biggest worry is that the government will continue to limit travel and exchange programs. I don't want them to make their decision now, but I hope they don't wait until the last minute. I am super relieved that I will be receiving my first vaccination shot on Tuesday! My regular study abroad concerns are:

  • Spending six months in a new place (I'm certainly a homebody)

  • Getting lost in translation

  • Dying my hair

  • Squat toilets

  • Traveling solo (I'm a girl)

  • Feeling isolated

  • Continuing my research


But Think of Everything I Will Accomplish...

  • Discover new careers

  • Communicate effectively

  • Try new products, foods, and activities

  • Use a squat toilet

  • Visit new places

  • Make friends

  • Develop as a person and global citizen

Before I go there is a lot of preparation to be done. I am somewhat worried about trying to get most of it done in August because my research at NC State will dominate my summer. Since I tend to overpack anyway, maybe it is a good thing I won't stuff my suitcases over the course of the summer.





7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page